• The Tony Jannus Distinguished Aviation Society promotes and provides financial support to students enrolled in college level courses leading to a degree in fields related to potential careers in scheduled commercial aviation at colleges and universities.
  • In January of 1914, Tony Jannus flew a Benoist airboat from St. Petersburg to Tampa and established the Bay Area as the home of the first scheduled airline. Each year, the Tony Jannus Distinguished Aviation Society honors a historic aviation achievement by recognizing a distinguished individual for outstanding contributions to scheduled air transportation. The society also looks to the future by awarding six scholars awards totaling $15,000 to aspiring aviation leaders enrolled at institutions of higher learning.
How to Apply
  • The awards applicants must meet the following criteria and conditions:
  • Part 1 - A one (1) page cover letter providing the Applicant's personal contact information along with a personal statement requesting consideration to become a "Tony Jannus Scholar."
  • Part 2 - A one (1) page letter from a University/College official in support of the Applicant's request and statement attesting to the Applicant's good academic standing as supported by a G.P.A of 3.0 or higher.
  • Part 3 - A supporting essay of 300 to 500 words clearly outlining:
  • a. How and when the Applicant first became interested in aviation.
  • b. How aviation has already impacted life choices related to academic, service, and/or occupation decisions.
  • c. How Tony Jannus has affected the Applicant's existing thinking with respect to aviation as a potential career.
  • d. Any additional personal observations the Applicant considers relevant to the Committee's evaluation process.
  • Applicants will be evaluated on the following criteria: academic achievement; quality of essay; general accomplishments; demonstrated commitment to aviation and subjective factors as deemed appropriate by the Committee.
  • Applications need to be hand delivered to 4010 Boy Scout Blvd, Ste. 300, Tampa, FL 33607 or emailed to no later than Friday, October 2, 2014.
Past Scholars Awards Winners
Click here to view  2014 winners 2014
Click here to view  2013 winners 2013
Click here to view  2012 winners 2012
Click here to view  2011 winners 2011
Click here to view  2010 winners 2010
Click here to view  2009 winners 2009
Click here to view  2008 winners 2008